Haircut

A few weeks ago, O and I come home from summer camp. She is miraculously doing something on her own in her bedroom, while I fuss around the kitchen making dinner. A few minutes later, O comes in and declares: My bangs were so crazy I had to cup them.  I look up, and there, in the middle of her forehead is a clump of recently cut hair. O, what did you do to your hair??  My shock sends her in waves of tears. Mommy, I’m sorry I cut my hair!!!  tears streaming down her little face. O, you can do whatever you want to your hair.  It’s your hair. Just remember it will take a long time for it to grow back.

FB_IMG_13741902980466134

The next morning, she was still upset about the hair. She made swear not to tell her teachers. Mommy, SWEAR you won’t tell the teachers! I promise, I told her. And I stuck to it. I didn’t say a word to the teachers when I dropped her off. Later on when I picked her up, one of the teachers asks me, Did you cut O’s hair?  Oh no. That was all her. She tells me that O refused to answer any questions about her hair all day.  Anytime anyone approached the subject, she just walked away.

Everyone was asking for pictures. And O refused to let me take a picture of her new bangs.  It took two weeks before her embarrassment died down enough to let me take a picture of her.

20130727_123757It’s not that bad. She just took a chuck starting from the middle of hear head and just cut.  She is very aggressively eating her veggies and fruits willing her hair to grow faster!

PS My mom is worried that I let O have her scissors in her room. Won’t she hurt herself?

 

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Freaking Fours, Kindergarden, Social Ills and such. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

