Freedom!

This weekend, Papa is coming to pick up O and take her to their house.  And yes, that is a mark of dedication and also a guilt trip from me to watch their only grandchild.  So yes, they have absolutely NO problem getting in the car driving 2 hours each way to pick up their precious, smart, gorgeous and funny granddaughter. And yes, I realize that I am very lucky!  And that O is very lucky!

But never fear, O will have a FABULOUS weekend.  She has two parties to attend on Saturday. A baby shower for a family friend. She’s going with Grandma, then in the afternoon they are going my dad’s company picnic.  There is a pool, kids activities, and even a pony. She is super excited about the pool. Even though we have already discussed several times that she has never been to that pool (even though I think she attended the company picnic in previous years) and the only pool she’s been in is at Puerto Plata.  This morning, I also mentioned that there will be a pony.  Her eyes got really big: Can I pet it? Yes. Can I ride it? Probably? Can I poke it in the eye? (toddler humor!)

But then she became very concerned. But, Mommy, what will you do?  You will be all alone on Saturday?  Me: Don’t worry, Daddy will be with me. O: But you will be all alone. You will miss me so much. (No, that was not a question, but a statement.) Me: Don’t worry, Daddy and I will be just fine, but yes, I will miss you.

Mommy and Daddy will be going out with our friends who are visiting from out of town, and we won’t have to rush back to relieve a babysitter, or have to worry about headaches the next morning!

She is always concerned!

PS. O did not approve of Shakira’s outfit during the signing round of The Voice. Her words: She is showing her nakedness. (Obviously, she did not watch when Xtina was on to see her nakedness… And Shakira’s outfit would be considered conservative.

PSS. She was also very shocked when Sasha Allen ripped off her red cover up. Mommy, why is she in her underwear??

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Freaking Fours, International Toddler of Mystery, Star of the her own movie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

