Seeing the Future

This weekend, my boss’s 16 year old cousin will be staying with us. She is visiting from far away land.  The other day as we were all walking down the street, including her uncle, she got cat called.  I mean really???  Didn’t the guy see that she was with 1 man and three other women? One of us could have been her mother.  I actually didn’t hear it, but if I was paying better attention I think I might have said something.  So this leads me to…she is not going anywhere this weekend without me.  I know her mother. Her mother knows me. I do not want to take my eyes off of her.

So this weekend, I will see what it’s like to have a 16 year old around. She is the baby of the family, and the only girl. I can only imagine the fun things she does to her mom!  It probably won’t be the same, as you always act differently when your parents are not around.  We have lots of fun things planned, so I can’t wait!

While I was pregnant with O, my friend would always try to prep me for having a 6 year old. He would come up to me, and say: You have to practice. So let’s role play. I’m O, and you are you.

Me: Ok
Fake O: with a wicked glimmer in his eye. He sets the scene. After school and she is 16. So Mom, I’m like pregnant.
Me: I don’t like this game
Fake O: Why not? It’s fun for me. Ok, how about she comes in and says, Mom, here is my boyfriend. And he’s like 18, pierced everything and he is into goth.
Me: roll my eyes. This would never happen. She will be sent to convent when she’s 10.
Fake O: Don’t you know, it’s the Catholic school girls that are the naughtiest.

Hmm… I guess maybe I need to rethink the whole Catholic school option for her now.  Freaking out!

Sidebar: O is really excited for my boss’s niece to come stay with us.  She helped me tidy up yesterday, Mommy, look what a good helper I am! (As she pulls the bouncy ball out of the toy box).

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Girls Time, International Toddler of Mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

