No Little Prodigy for Us

Over the weekend, we found out the results of the Gifted and Talented test. And according to the New York City Department of Education, O is not a genius. Far from it, maybe an idiot savant. The score wasn’t even close. My parents including DH had to walk around me on egg shells.  They all knew this meant more to me than to O.  O is blissfully unaware of what is going on. My parents called several times to console me, to make sure I wouldn’t do anything drastic like jump off the Brooklyn Bridge.  I was disappointed, but whatever… I think it’s too young to test them. And maybe she had a bad day. Or maybe she is not good test taker.

On Friday night, when I was still having dreams of O attending the great Math and Science school, we told O that we will be getting the results of the puzzle questions she had before. Then she dropped a whopper on us. She says. Mommy, Daddy, I lied when I said the candy came out. US: What do you mean? O: There was no candy.

Now, let me back track a bit. After the test, we ask her what kind of questions. She said that she had to put the colors in order and then the box opened up and a candy came out. We were thinking, that it’s good news because that means she got the question correct (In the back of my mind I was thinking about those science experiences with the monkeys where if they get the question right they get a candy, but if not no candy or an electric shock.)  It turns out that A. there was no box which would give out candy if you got the answer correct, or B. there was no candy box question whatsoever.  Either way, for months we were telling everyone about the box with candy.

The moral of the story: O has street smarts, maybe not test taking smarts.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Funny Maker, Kindergarden, No longer a baby, Preschooler. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Little Prodigy for Us

  1. Sam says:

    I’d take street smart over book smart anyday! Sorry you didn’t get the results you hoped for but you still have a bright, smart, happy little girl :o)

    • RidgewoodMom says:

      Yes, me too. But she is happy. So that’s all that matters. And in the end the experiences she has will make her smart. By the way, do you know she’s going to Paris this summer??? Yeah!! Her grandparents are SPOILING her! She won’t lack experiences!

  2. Sam says:

    WOW! Lucky girl! Make sure they take a camera this time 😉

Leave a Reply

