Dominican Getaway!

This year we put our money where our traveling dreams are, and went to Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic.  We also brought our ray of sunshine…O.

This was my first All Inclusive vacation. I had never been to an all inclusive resort before.  And I am still not sure how I feel about it. I guess I had really really high expectations because it was not exactly what I pictured. I guess I never thought about the evenings. What do you do in the evenings on a compound??  Well, they have entertainment. Like the Michael Jackson night, which was pretty terrible. But then they had some fun things like a local live band (which I wish they had more of) and karaoke night (which was too short.)  I got up there and sang two songs. I signed up for a third, but they shut it down before I got to torture the vacationers with my musical stylings of ABBA’s Knowing Me, Knowing You. I did however have groupies. A group of 5 older ladies loved my Carly Simon’s You’re So Vain. A bunch of people liked Bon Jovi’s Livin’ on a Prayer (an anthem for all!).   The next day, several older couples came up to me and complimented me on my performance (I think it was the stage presence… not the singing…)

I do think we picked a good resort. It was family oriented, not a lot of partying. The evening events ended around 11:30.  There was no disco, so no drunk kids everywhere. There were some drunk grown ups, but hey, it’s vacation.  The pool was really nice. Not too big.  The staff was super nice.  (You can read the reviews on TripAdvisor.)  The food was just OK. The a la carte options were good. The only terrible one was the Ocean Grill.  The beach was not good. I am not sure what kind of beach other people were at, but it was really windy, the sand was not soft. But we spent all our time at the pool.

Anyway, but let’s get to the niddy griddy of traveling with toddler. Let me tell you that overall our ray of sunshine was indeed a ray of sunshine. She only showed her crankiness in the morning, before we met up with our friends. It was actually the teenagers, with whom we were traveling, that were the crankiest!  But the teenage girls were great!  They entertained O in the pool. I did have to put my foot down and buy O a hat, and fought her on it. I told her she can’t go in the pool without the hat. And she did.  She sat in the shade when told.

And she stayed up till 11 pm. Yes, you read correctly.  They had wi-fi in the lobby area, so I plopped her with my phone and Netflix and headphones, and she just watched movies, until she finally passed out!  We didn’t stay up every night until that time.  DH and I would take turns going to bed earlier with her.

I would hope she would take nappies during the day, but most of the time, like at home, she didn’t. And no, passing out by the poll was never an option. She was always doing something.

But the best part, if I do say so myself, and pat ourselves on the back, was the compliment our friends gave us.  They said we are good parents! I mean, I am still on a little high about it. You always hope you are, but it’s nice to hear.  They were impressed with how well O listens, and yes, she acts up, but she knows where the line is. And it is not to be crossed!  YEY!!

So from now on, I will be smug about this and give you all advice from my pedestal….

NOT!  Don’t worry, the second we landed in New York, the vacation glow ended, and the parenting high ended. It was a NIGHTMARE getting her up the next day or the rest of the week.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Freaking Fours, International Toddler of Mystery, Perfection!, Star of the her own movie, Subway Rides and Bus Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

