Today Is K Day

Today is the last day for Kindergarden applications.  AHHHHHHH!

I can’t believe for a Kindergardener I have a first choice school as well as a safety school. Didn’t we have to do this for college applications?

Now, we wait until beginning of April to find out if O is a genius and gets the applications for the Gifted and Talented programs.  Or even the citywide program (FINGERS crossed on this one!)

The safety school is a private school, she already has a spot, but I feel like she should be able to go to a public school.  DH is convinced that we will have to shell out the money for private school.

The other day when I drop off O at school, I run into a mom that I am friendly with.  And we start chatting about schools.  She is freaking out because she doesn’t like her zoned school either.  And that she is not sure about the Catholic school across the street from her.  Then she randomly mentions that at least she has until the end of March to decide. I’m like, No, I think the deadline is March 1st, this week. WHAT?  No! She looks at the handbook, and yes, indeed, it is March 1st. She proceeds to freak out. I say, Don’t worry, it doesn’t take that long.  You can do it. Then she tells me she wants to put him in X and Y Catholic school as well. I had already heard that both have waiting lists. WHAT?  Then she really starts freaking out.  I tell her to apply to her zoned school and if he gets in, just place him there for a year and then move him.  (I too was thinking of this, but I don’t know how I feel about moving O so often with schools and new kids.)

I felt bad, and I hope she sorted it all out. Today is K-DAY!

On the other side of the coin is another mom, who has been guiding me a little bit in the process as well.  And she is ON TOP OF IT. I’ve been riding her coat tails a little bit.  I don’t know how she has time to be so organized. I don’t think she watches as much TV as I do maybe. But I can’t cut out Smash, Elementary, Scandal and Nashville. Or Downton Abbey. Or the Bitches of Beverly Hills, or Top Chef or Project Runway. Or New Girl.  Or Psych. And still Gray’s Anatomy.  Or Castle. As you can see I am much too busy to worry about O’s education.

Seriously! I have priorities. She’s a smart girl, she can figure it out!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Freaking Fours, Queens, So not fair. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

