Every Penny Counts

O has a piggy bank, in which is puts all the change she finds around the house. Including the fake coins that she uses with her cash register.

And she makes grandiose gestures as, Grandma, I want to buy you a pink dress for your birthday.  Mommy, can we get Grandma a pink dress for her birthday. Me: Sure, we can.  Are you going to take the money out of your piggy bank? O: NOOO. You can pay for it.

Hmmm.  Not really teaching her the value of money. I respond, Well, then we will get her a gift from you, me and Daddy and that is that.  O: But why can’t you buy it? More arguments and tears later, Grandma is not getting pink dress for her birthday.

A few months later…..

Then the other night we come home from school, and she tells me it’s her teacher’s birthday tomorrow. Mommy, can we get her a present? Me: Really?  It’s 7 pm now, I wish you would have given me a bit of a heads up and I could have purchased something. Maybe next year. O: Mommy, I want to get her a present. Why can’t we get her flowers for her birthday. Me: (I think about it. There are flower places on the walk to school.) Ok.  Maybe we can buy something on the way to school. But are you going to get the money out of your piggy bank to pay for the present? O: OK.

WHAAAT?  So the next morning, we go through her piggy bank, and take out $2 in change.  I show her the quarters, and how many she needs. Well needless to say, the flower places were not open. She was very upset.  But I promised that I would buy her flowers at my work and bring them for the teacher.

Lovely Primrose

Lovely Primrose

I go to WholeFoods (because it’s a Friday, and teacher will only be back in on Monday, so the flowers need to last the whole weekend). I look around, and find these beautiful Primorose. And it was on sale for $2! Both Mommy and Daughter stayed on budget.

Yey!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Freaking Fours, Social Ills and such. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Every Penny Counts

  1. Sam says:

    Nice! I found a $20 bill in Charlottes purse this morning (amongst the other change she must’ve picked up along the way) I think she’s been riffling through our bedroom or my bag! She has more cash than me.

    • RidgewoodMom says:

      I had to go through her piggy bank to make some change. I put back the same amount I took out, but she was on me like a rash. Mommy, what are you doing with my piggy bank. You can’t take the money. That’s my money.
      Seriously! No respect for her elders!

Leave a Reply

