Dinner Time

As I’ve mentioned in the past, dinner time can be challenging  O will eat most of everything we put in front of her, but it can take HOURS…. A lot of discussion over what we are eating. Why? Not this one, but that one. I want juice. No, I want water. I want the pink straw not the blue.  You name, she comes up with it.

Since this can be a 45 minute production,  DH and I already finish our dinner while she’s still putting only the 2nd bite in her mouth.  I tend at this point to pull out my phone to check emails. Finish up some stuff that was left over from the day.  I never thought anything of this, until….

A few days ago, O is helping me set the table.  She takes the forks, and places them. Grabs glasses.  Grabs the plates. Then she goes and grabs everyone’s cell phones and places them next to each person’s setting. Including her own (it’s my old iPhone that no longer works, but she uses).  Then she sits down, and start “typing” on her phone.  I guess, you do have to be careful what you do, as O will pick it up.

From then on, no more cell phones at the table. It’s hard when you are in hour 2 of the dinner and she is not any closer to finishing.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Father Dearest, Freaking Fours, Mommy Dearest, Parents, TV and boob tube, Where O Is Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

