Thanksgiving Food Coma

Not really. I wish that was my excuse this month. But it’s not.  I’ve just been lazy.

Lots of stuff happened. O’s birthday party. Traveled to Toronto. Got a new phone. DH got a new phone. O got skis for her birthday (which need to be exchanged because the boots are too small, and skis too talk). Survived massive gas lines after Sandy. I am almost finished the biography of Marie Antoinette (did you know she was really poorly educated? As the last daughter, she was left to her own devices most of the time. )

But let’s talk about something more important. I go out to brunch with friends, if not frequently, more often than not.  I have a particular friend (who I will call my former work husband, referred to from now on WDH, and former because he no longer works at the company) and we meet for brunch quite a bit.  He is very understanding with O. And now O is quite smitten by him.

While in TO, DH when to lunch with his two friends and took O with him.  As soon as I get home, I ask him how it went. Well, let me just tell you that my brunch experience with O is COMPLETELY different from DH’s brunch experience with O.

My brunch is normally distracted by seven trips to the bathroom, only the pee once out of those times. Conversations get interrupted with dropped crayons, questions, tantrums.  I am constantly asked to color with her. Play with her. Feed her. Anything that requires my undivided attention on her rather than on my friend. WDH is really good about it. If by some chance, I have to pee, O and WDH are at a point where she will actually remain at the table while I go pee in privacy.  If it’s not clear, most of the time brunch is chaotic mess with some food and a little conversation.  Granted she is getting better, but it’s never been a fully calm experience. EVER!

Now to contrast DH’s brunch experience with his friends. True, O hasn’t not really met his friends as frequently, so she does tend to be shy. But her overall attitude is inexplicable. Apparently, DH’s friends tried to make conversation, and she just ignored them. She pulled out her crayons, her Spiderman and Batman and proceed to play by herself the WHOLE freaking brunch!  REALLY??  She ate a little bit BY HERSELF. But overall she was a joy to be around.  No 15 trips to the bathroom.

And that night when I saw his friends, they too said that she was really cute to be around. Really???  You didn’t see her in her full glory.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest, Social Ills and such, Star of the her own movie, Subway Rides and Bus Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

