Spick and Span Clean

On Monday, I took my first subway ride into the city since Sandy.  First off, my subway was super packed. At 7:30 am, which is complete unusual. But this time, by the time we made our way into the city, we were all packed as sardines.

After a tiny incident of O spewing her milk on my work laptop, the screen on Sunday decided to give out, I had to take it to the Apple doctor. I normally don’t go to far uptown unless I have a meeting. But the thing that I noticed this time was how clean the subway tracks were. I guess it took Sandy to flood the subway tracks to get the trash off the tracks. But even with that, people had already started throwing trash and empty bottles. It just pisses me off. This is the time to start with a clean slate. Let’s keep the subway clean.

The other thing that struck me was the announcement. The recorded announcement said: Due to previous service interruptions, the D, E, etc trains are running blah blah blah. It’s weird to refer to a complete subway shutdown for three days as “previous service interruptions”.

And let me not even mention the ride home.  Even today, I had to let two trains pass before I could get on one. They were so packed.

The gas…oh the gas… finally today DH was able to get gas. If you are looking for gas, please try gasbuddy.com/sandy And thanks to everyone for updating to let us all know where the gas is. Hopefully this will sort itself out soon!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Subway Rides and Bus Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

