Blood and Guts

Did I get your attention?

O is being a big pain in the ass right now. I don’t know what the deal is with her. I think since they are on a summer holiday schedule, they don’t do as much circle time or really teaching at school. It’s more fun, than challenging. Idle hands are the devil’s playground is so true!  She’s not being challenged so she’s acting up.   Lots of attitude. Lots of talking back. I ask her a question, and she yells the answer back at me.  When she gets mad, she says she’s going to run away.  With the Snausage dog.  The last time she did that, she was promptly sent to her room, where she cried for about 10 minutes.  But she hasn’t said it since.

But the most disturbing thing is that all her imaginary scenarios are a bit violent. There is some blood. Hitting. Punishing. All her babies are always bad, and they do a lot of hitting. Then there is hitting in the eye and bleeding (I think one of the babies did it to another baby).

A lot of poopy, peepy, butt, and fart jokes. Not really jokes, she thinks they are funny but now it’s just getting annoying. Poopy in the eye is a common one. I am trying to figure out where all the blood and guts comments are coming from. I get the poopy jokes, but the blood and death not so much. It must be one of the boys. I have to find out from the teacher who talks about this. Or if it’s even common. Does anyone know?

I also noticed that she is forgetting some of her shapes and letter recognition. The teacher said that over the summer they loose about 30% of what they learned. So this weekend we started working on shapes and letters. She was really excited about it. So we did an hour or so. And then we started practicing writing letters: Upper case A and lower case a. Then puzzles. And I realized she needs more challenging puzzles. The little ones she finishes right away. Fortunately, I had one harder puzzle, so we worked on that.
She was definitely better behaved this weekend than earlier this month. But I still need to get to the bottom of the gory scenarios in her head.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Funny Maker, Running away to Patagonia, So not fair, Social Ills and such, Star of the her own movie. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blood and Guts

  1. Pingback: Can I Watch Your Show? | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

