New Baby

Not mine, but my friend had her second son on Monday.  And when I held him, all I could think of was, What will you be when you grow up?  What will your personality be like?  I believe most of the major characteristics are probably already set, with probably a few influences from the parents and his environment. But his disposition is probably already set. And if the first two days of his life are indicative of what he will be like, he is pretty quiet, just super hungry.

But it did make my inside yearn for a new baby. I look at O and I think you are so much fun, I want to extend this time in your life. The curiosity, the story telling, the funny maker… I wish this could last forever and ever. I know it won’t and I’ll be sad.  Anyway, it’s just a pipe dream.

So I am at the hospital, holding the new baby, and O calls me.

O: Mommy, where are you? I played in the sprinkler today.

Me: That’s great!  Guess who I’m seeing right now?

O: Who?

Me: Baby C’s little brother.

O: Where are you?

Me: I’m at the hospital.

O: What are you doing at the hopipal?

Me: Well, C’s little brother was born and I am here to see him.

O: But why at the hopipal?

Me: Well, he came out of his mommy’s tummy.

O: Silence as she processes the information. Does her tummy hurt?

Me: laugh Yes, a little bit.

O: Mommy, I have a moquito bite, and it hurts. Ok, Bye, Mommy!

And that’s it.  I showed her the pictures, and she was really fascinated by him. Oh, he is so cute, Mommy!  She’s right, he is super cute!  And so is she!! Love her!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Funny Maker, Girls Time, Health, Miscellaneous, Perfection!, Star of the her own movie, What Baby Is Chatting About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

