I FOUND YOU!

The heat is getting unbearable.  Even I am to the point of living in air conditioning 24/7.  Yes, with a sweater on, but air conditioning must be.  I know counter intuitive. I could just turn off the air conditioning. But the smell of the heat is too much. Plus, O has a nasty rash which is probably from the heat, so in order to keep my child safe, we are sacrificing our electric bill. I can’t imagine it being too much since it hasn’t been that hot. But when it comes, it hits you like a ton of bricks. It’s possible we’ve become delicate flowers and are not used to the oppressive heat.  All the more reason to rack up the electric bill. However, I still don’t like sleeping with the air conditioning on. It’s much too cold, it’s loud, and I just don’t like it. Plus we have a wonderful ceiling fan in the bedroom (and the living room, but more on that one), and I love leaving the air conditioning really cold until 10 pm when I go to bed.  Then I turn the fan on, and I’m ok until the morning.  Even a little chilly. I have to sleep with some sort of covers on, even if it’s 100 degrees. A sheet…something. I can kick it off in the middle of the night, but I must start out covered.

Then one morning, as I was trying to get an extra 10 minutes of sleep, O was moving around the bedroom, and she picked up the remote for the fan.  And I saw her walk away with it. Then I closed my eyes, and lost track of it.  This was 3 months ago.  I’ve asked her over and over again what she did with the remote, and each time she brought me the TV remote. No, not that one. This one… (and I show her the one from the living room fan.) I don’t know, Mommy. Let’s look for it.  So we look for it. We cleaned up her room, and threw out a lot of the toys she doesn’t play with, and I was hoping I would find the remote. I looked in all her purseS, her back packs, any nook and cranny, in her kitchen…. NADA!  I don’t know what she did with it.

As the heat went on, it became more and more annoying. I looked under the bed on the side where she picked up the remote from, nothing. I looked in our night stands.  Niet!  Then yesterday, I decided to look under the OTHER side of the bed… and there it was!  YEY! And last night, I turned off the air conditioning, and had the fan on, and it was a glorious night!

As for the living room fan…it doesn’t work. I don’t think there is anything wrong with the  motor itself, but I think it’s the remote adaptor. But as I told DH, he needs to take apart, call the company, and they will send us a new remote adaptor.  He has yet to do this.  So no fan or ceiling light in the living room.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Father Dearest, Joys of Home Ownership, Mommy Dearest, Weather related events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

