Baby Present

My friend has having her second baby boy.  She is due on July 3rd, and I think she can’t wait to stop being pregnant.  Her mom threw her a small lunch. Since she’s having another boy, she has most of everything that she needs. Just a few essentials, which are big ticket item.  I wanted to give her something that was unique, and I saw this online.  Homemade Onesies.  I thought it was a really cute, so I thought what better idea.  I purchased sets of onesies 0-3 months and 3 to 6 months.  I think in total there were about 10 onesies. Then I got planning on what to put them.  For some reason all the fabric I had for my Mom’s quilt were very girly colors, so I had to go to the store and pick out more boys colors. O of course kept picking pink and purple. But I made her focus and she managed to pick up some good choices: a fabric with trucks and bicycles, and neutral colors packet.

For details on exactly how to do it, Please go to the link.  But what I did learn, when making the seams around the fabric you need a seam that is not too small. I used HeatnBond Ultra Hold Iron-on Adhesive, the fabric with the heat bond was really thick. I broke 1 sewing needle. And by mistake I made the stitch too small, which really bunched up the fabric. (I didn’t realize my mistake until I started working on a new project and the linen fabric was still bunching up.)  I do have to say the onesies that had the seam around the fabric did look a lot nicer.  But I had to stop otherwise I think I would have ruined a lot of them.

I did not use the templates, I just freehand drew them, and them cut and pasted them together.  But if I do it again, I think I will buy the templates.  I also used fabric pens, which were horrible.  They bled through, but I had already ironed on the New Jersey, so I didn’t want to get rid of it.  But if I had more time, I think I might have sewn the letters with stitching instead.  Lesson learned. I think it was the material of the onesie rather than what  T-shirt fabric is made of.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lesson learned!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Crafty Mommy, Family Related Event and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Present

  1. Aunty says:

    They look fab!

Leave a Reply

