Perfect Weekend

Grandma and Papa came to pick up O on Friday morning, so we had the WHOLE weekend to ourselves. I can’t remember the last time I slept in… I can’t remember the last time I didn’t have to think what am I going to make for lunch… I can’t remember the last time I enjoyed the coffee in the backyard, reading a book with no interruptions… It was pure bliss.  On Saturday, I had a baby shower to attend, and that night we went out to dinner to a comedy show. It was DH’s birthday present. We went to see Aziz Ansari, at the 11 pm showing.  Yes, it was crazy to think that people who normally go to bed at 11 pm will be OK with staying up so late. But we managed.  I did feel really old. Most of the people in attendance were in their 20s, and they kept buying $11/$20 drinks!  But it was like watching a mini fashion show: all the girls decked out.  Most of them were just annoying looking and everything they said really irritated me. Maybe it was because the show didn’t actually start until close to midnight (after the opening act).

Fortunately Aziz was really funny, so we managed to stay up. His jokes came out rapid fire, that it’s hard to pinpoint what was the best.  He did have some great family/ parent/ non-parent jokes.  And thanks to the MTA, we didn’t get home until 3 am.  I was very proud of DH for agreeing to take the subway (he is normally so anti subway).

Sunday morning, I woke up at 11:15 !  That’s right ELEVEN FIFTEEN!  I had my coffee. We started doing the Sunday chores: laundry, grocery shopping, cleaning… but no little 3-1/2 year old distractions!

O also had a fabulous weekend!  She went to the beach and a long walk.  My parents took her to the Sterling Hill Mining Museum, where apparently she was so keen to listen to the 2 hour tour. I think my dad is secretly excited that after having only women in his family, one might, just might, become a geologist.  Leena was close, but in the end chose the boring profession of some sort of account type thingy (she can explain better…all I know it has to do with numbers and lots of excel spreadsheets.)  Nevertheless, O was super excited to show us her rock that she picked out.

We were both really excited to see her! And the best part, they finally got to the house around 5 pm. By the time she finished dinner and had her bath, 7:30 and it was bedtime. Tonight she will probably be really cranky and tired!  But it’s nice to hear, Mommy, I missed you so much!  I told her I cried for her, and she said, I always come back, Mommy.

Cuteness!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Father Dearest, International Toddler of Mystery, Mommy Dearest, Perfection!, What Baby Is Chatting About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

