So Much Has Happened!

And this week will be no exception!

We had a lovely long weekend at Grandma and Papa’s house without Grandma and Papa.  They were still in far off places.  But O was really excited because we stayed in their bed, and when we spoke to them, she kept telling them that we can do whatever we want because they are not there!

Then last week at school, O’s social life just got a little complicated. I know: how can a 3-1/2 year old have a complicate social life. Well one of her little girl friends, not Rose, but Laura, bought O a friendship bracelet. A bracelet that only O and Laura had. Apparently the kids at school were very curious about this. And what it was, and why the other kids don’t have them.  When I spoke to the teacher, she said that it’s fine. It’s a learning lesson, and I guess you do have to learn about friendship. I’m just sad that Rose wasn’t included.

But never fear, this weekend at AC Moore, she picked up two rings, one for her and one for Laura. And I asked, what about Daisy?  She’s like Oh yeah, Rose wants one too.  So we bought three rings.  Then I started wandering, Am I forcing her friendship with Rose? I don’t think so. I will have to ask the teacher if she and Rose are still in cahoots.  And what about the other two girls in her class?  Isadora, who apparently follows her around the class? And Bella, who kept telling the teacher and the other kids that Bella is not ready to use her words, and when she is ready she will use her words. (I was told that Bella uses her words now.)

I was filled with guilt about the rings.  This morning, when we left for school, I didn’t remind her about them. Maybe I will put them in the girls’ cubbies this week, but not have O give it to them in person. I just feel bad for the other girls.  But I guess you can’t protect them forever. I just want to make sure, of all the things that O learns from us, is to be nice to everyone. She doesn’t have to like them, but to not be mean.  She still has a few years to get into the Middle School, and have to deal with these social situations in a more heighten level.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Girls Time, Kindergarden, No longer a baby, Preschooler, Star of the her own movie, What Baby Is Chatting About. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Much Has Happened!

  1. Pingback: 3-1/2 Going 13 | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

