I Said PIG!

A Mommy at day care recommended that I read Raise a Smarter Kid by Kindergarten.  One of the activity recommendations was to change up stories that you read every night. As you know, O like most other kids gets fixated on one or two books and we have to read them over and over and over and over again.  Currently it’s Jillian Jiggs and Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy.

On Sunday night as we are reading Wonderful Pigs of Jillian Jiggs (it’s about her making toy pigs), I decided to switch out when the first pig gets introduced to horse.   She looks up at me, and furrows her eyebrows and declares, Pigs, Mommy!  Sorry, O, you are right. They are pigs. I read on, a few more pages, then I change out the pigs again to doggies. She sits up, and leans on one elbow, this time really frowns at me, and pretty much yells at me, I SAID PIGS, Mommy!  I try to make light of it, Oh yeah, Mommy wasn’t paying attention. She gives me a nasty look to warn me that I better start paying attention. So that didn’t go over so well.

I thought maybe she was just in a bad mood. Last night I changed up another story, and that too didn’t go so well either.

She is very strict with what is and what is not real. The first few weeks we were reading Ladybug Girl, there is a part where the two kids imagine a parade with people throwing flowers at them. Since it’s in their imagination, there aren’t any people, and no flowers.  This was a huge contention point. I had to explain over and over again that they are imagining it.  And when they pretended the squirrel was a monster, That’s not a monter, Mommy. That’s a quirrel!  Shaking her bobbed head in disbelief that someone would think something up so silly!

I guess I have to try another one of his activities from the book.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Girls Time, Kindergarden, Mommy Dearest, Preschooler, Toddler Reading List, What Baby Is Chatting About and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

