Nights 5 and 6

All good! All GOOD!  She is sleeping in her room like a big girl. We even got her to start dressing herself for bed and for the morning.  Last night both her top and bottom of her PJs were backwards. But considering the weather has been so bad, a change in weather will do us good. (For those of you who do not have this particular suppression, if you put your clothes on backwards, the weather will change.)

So Sunday, mark your calendars for a trip to Target or Toys R Us or KMart.  But on some level I think she is messing with me.  I think after she gets her Blue Mermaid, she will just come back into our room. So what do I do??? Do I take the Blue Mermaid away?  A friend (who is a child psychologist) said that once you give a present you can’t take it back.  I am not sure I agree with that.  If the doll is for a certain behavior, if she doesn’t continue on the behavior, doesn’t this mean that you can take it away?? She broke the contract.

But I am getting ahead of myself. Let’s see what happens on Sunday night!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest, No longer a baby, Perfection! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nights 5 and 6

  1. Aunty says:

    The suspense! Did she get the blue mermaid?

  2. Mike and I have just been discussing a rewards jar, like getting a star or marble for good behavior then getting a treat when so many stars/marbles collected (we are having listening issues in particular at the moment). I suggested we take a marble/star away for bad behavior and he said someone told him not to do that either, I guess the same method applies. Maybe she can’t play with blue mermaid for a day or something? Let me know what you have to do if it arises…

    • RidgewoodMom says:

      I think that’s a good idea. Super Nanny does it. And I think she took away stars/ marbles for not doing the chore. I think it’s different with marbles since it’s not an actual toy. http://www.supernanny.com/Reward-Charts/-/3-to-5-year-olds.aspx
      I think you would be OK with taking away the marbles. Or maybe giving 5 marbles for listening, and none for not listening. Or something like that.
      So far we haven’t had the need to take the Blue Mermaid away. She’s been staying in her bed. The dog, not so much 😉

Leave a Reply

