Closing the Door

If you are a parent, when was the last time you were able to pee in privacy? With the door closed? With no little knock at the door, Mommy, what are you doing?  No tears when you don’t promptly open the door?

Even when I go on business trips, and I have the whole room, THE WHOLE bathroom all to myself, I still have to do my business with the door open.  Sometimes, if we have company stay with us for longer periods of time, I have to make a mental note to close the bathroom door.

They do say that if the kids see you peeing, they get the idea and are potty trained faster. Or maybe this is just a sick joke that is passed down to torture new generations of parents.

And for O being a girl, it’s not just Mommy that she likes to watch pee, but Daddy has no privacy either. It’s like Grand Central in the bathroom.  For some reason, of all the rooms in the house, the bathroom is the room that everyone meets in.  Weird.

The other day as DH is pushing O out of the bathroom so he can go do his 2nd business in private, O is not moving. Daddy, what are you doing? Why I can’t I stay here.  DH: You have to go. I need privacy. O: Daddy, are you going cacky? DH: Yes, now go.  O: Do you cacky standing up too? DH: laughs No.  O: Good, cause that’s not right. It will fall EVERYWHERE!  she laughs too as he closes the door on her. Then O and I have to immediately discuss the situation. What is Daddy doing? Why is the door closed?

We’ll see what happens in her teenage years when she will keep her door closed ALL the time. I will probably miss the days of open door policies!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Father Dearest, Funny Maker, No longer a baby, Star of the her own movie, What Baby Is Chatting About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

