Black Hole that Is My Daughter’s Room

What is it with toddlers’ rooms?? I can put something in there, and the next day it disappears. I look up and down, and nothing. I look under the bed, in her kitchen (which is deceptively larger than you might think), in her three toy boxes, and NOTHING.

The other day, she grabs the top to one of those plastic cup things, which I have been using for my yogurt (she reminds me every day that she is sharing it with me. That it’s hers but she is letting me use it.) and takes it to her room. I ask her for the lid back, and she can’t find. Granted as a toddler I think she has the same narrow visual spectrum as a man.  Hopefully with age, the visual spectrum will widen a bit more than her father’s current visual spectrum.  (How many times has it been declared that his wallet has been lost or stolen???)  O has the same problem. Mommy, I can’t find it.  Did you look for it? I did, Mommy, but it’s not there.  I didn’t even see you go in your room to look for it.  I did, Mommy. Can you help me, Mommy?  First you go try to find it. Look for it.  Then I’ll come help.  (she goes to her room, steps in, and quickly announces) Mommy, I can’t find it.  Maybe it will just stay lost forever. (that’s when the tears start…At that point I have to drop everything and have to look for whatever she needs.)

For Christmas we were thinking of getting her Polly Pocket. Praise the Lord we did not! Imagine looking for all the little pieces at this age! It’s crazy!  I would just have to stay in her room all the time looking for the pieces.

This weekend in an effort to provide her with responsibilities, she has started her chores or the four things she is responsible by herself. She’s already been doing the tiding up her room.  But in addition, she is now responsible to make her bed (with Mommy and Daddy’s help for now) And trust me, she is very particular, that every corner of the bed needs to be covered!

Yesterday we took her to school without brushing her teeth. Totally forgot!  So now it is her responsibility to brush her teeth.  Or to remember.  Mommy and Daddy will still have to monitor to make sure she’s doing a good job.  So far she is really into this. So hopefully she will keep going.

I realized that this post is all over the place. I guess that’s what happens when you start on one day, then finish it the next day. I truly don’t remember where I was going with the first thought. Toddler Brain!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in No longer a baby, Star of the her own movie, What Baby Is Chatting About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

