Anxiety, Anxiety and MORE Anxiety

I was going to write a nice, easy going post about it being Tuesday, and then segway  into our weekend adventures in DC. But then I started reading about the kindergarden waiting lists for NYC public school, and I just got into a panic. I don’t usually get anxiety, not about myself. I’m more of the type to pull yourself by your bootstraps and keep going. But this education thing has to do with O and her future.  Then I made another huge mistake of subscribing to two blogs about NYC public schools and it has not helped at all. In fact I think now that O will not be able to attend kindergarden next year because I’ve already missed the deadlines. I know this is totally wrong, but bear with me people.

So far, there are over 2000 kids on waiting lists for the their ZONED schools, which is different from DISTRICT school. They do not know how many kids are on waiting list that are from the district. Not only that.  More kids have taken the Gifted and Talented test, and the spaces are few and far between.  And none of the programs are anywhere near where we live. AND, a NY Times article mentioned how parents are now paying $600 to get their kids prepped to take the test for the G&T program.  WHAT THE F??

The school that we are zoned for is OK, but there are better schools in the district that are much better, but we are not zoned for. My GOD! I’m having nightmarish flashbacks to college applications.  What should we do??  I kind of wished we lived in suburbia where things were predetermined. Where you didn’t have a choice of where to go.

Am I over reacting?  Maybe… but I need to calm the F… down!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Kindergarden, Parents and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anxiety, Anxiety and MORE Anxiety

  1. Pingback: Finally…. FRIDAY! | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

