Happy Easter!

And because I am crazy, I really don’t have anything better to do with my free time.  I decided this year to make the carrot cake for O’s Easter party at school.  The inspiration (again from Pinterest… curse you incompetence at attaching links to my blog!!!!!)  came from this post about Jelly Bean Carrot cake. I of course had to take it one notch up.  After all as carrot cake the base should be carrot cake no pound cake from a box. I mean, don’t you know me???  Would anything from a box be OK?? NOOOO!    I used Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for carrot cake cupcakes, and halved the recipe.  After all they are toddlers, and I’m sure they will already get lots of cake.  I bought way too many jelly beans, and I substituted the sour shoe string candy with the normal green shoe strings for the stalks.

And let me tell you. This morning, there were cupcakes, cookies, goodie bags, and there only 5 kids at school only.  The teacher said they are going to be so high on sugar when we pick them up.  And indeed they were.  But the cake got lots of compliments. The kids even liked the carrot cake!

Tomorrow we are going to the zoo and on Sunday, the Easter Bunny will leash his plastic eggs filled with more candy, and hopefully a really happy toddler!

Happy Easter!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Crafty Mommy, Perfection!, Preschooler, Where O Is Eating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Easter!

  1. AuntieM says:

    Agreed, boxed cake is unacceptable! Have you seen the movie “I don’t know how she does it”?

    • RidgewoodMom says:

      No, I haven’t but I’ve heard that it’s OK. Have you seen it?? One of my co-workers said that SJP’s character reminded him of me. But not sure if I should believe that. It’s a lot to live up to, though!

Leave a Reply

