Quilt Has Been Presented

But far from finished.

On Saturday the long anticipated, Grandma’s momentous Birthday Party. On Thursday night, I made a flourless Chocolate cake, and because we have the bear situation in the house, O had to write a letter to the bear to ask him to please not eat grandma’s cake (he didn’t!) I also asked her teachers if she can make a birthday card for her grandma, which she did. She made drawings of O, Mami, Daddy, Grandma and Papa. We looked a little like aliens with really thin bodies and gigantic eyes. She forgot to include Papa, so we had to make a last minute addition, which prompted some changes of who was who.  Grandma Loved her card!

For the party itself, we decided to do a mashed potato bar. If I can ever figure out how to add the Pinterest follow me button to the blog, you all would be privy to my ideas.  But alas, you will have to make do with my random updates.  Now, setting up the mashed potato bar requires a lot of different items. Not to mention, DH’s faces he would make every time I would mention it.  We also added a salad bar. Papa, who for some reason, was not reading my numerous daily updates, did not pay attention to what was going to happen and completely doubted the amount of food that will be there. So he insisted on borrowing Auntie M’s BBQ, and a frenzy of buying pork tenderloin. Papa was encouraged by DH’s lack of support for my idea. There was no way of stopping them!

Knowing full well that I would have to start prepping starting 8:30 am, Auntie M came over at 10 am and the first two pots of potatoes were already boiled. And up went the excel spreadsheet with tasks and deadlines.  As well as the list of things that needed to be done. Grandma and O went to the Please Touch Museum, with strict instructions to be home by 2 pm so O can take a nap.

Oh yeah, did I mention that on Friday afternoon I found this great idea on the internet? Did I tell you how much I love hate the internet?  Yes, it’s crazy to come up with this idea so late in the game. But I put Papa on it, so while Auntie M and I were cooking, Papa was scanning pictures and printing them out. Then we went quickly to rent a helium tank, and voila…. well, not quite voila.  It was more of running around to get the last things ready. I was making garlic shrimp as people were arriving, because for unknown reason, everyone was on time.

Some of the guests were giving me the last minute squares, which at this point I couldn’t add on. Mom was super surprised by the idea. And it was so much fun for everyone to look at the squares, and compare notes.  It was super fun!

And I have to say, there was WAY too much food. There were two big bowls of mashed potatoes left over. The pork tenderloins were forgotten. And the 4 sausages that were meant to be BBQed, did not even get made. Basically we don’t have to go grocery shopping for a very long time!!  There was so much left over food.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not to toot my own horn, but I will…Papa and Grandma both keep calling me to thank me what a wonderful party it was!  And even DH has now recanted his original hatred of the mashed potato bar.  But without Auntie M, none of the food would have made it to the table.  She was great! She went home, showered, came back, and continued helping me cook!  Brilliant woman!

PS. I am available for party consultations at ridgewoodmom at gmail dot com  (Wink, Wink!!)

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Where O Is Eating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quilt Has Been Presented

  1. Pingback: Happy Easter! | RigdewoodMom's Blog

  2. AuntieM says:

    A fabulous time was had by all!! Including Auntie M who LOVED cooking with you and help make it all happen …. glad the doubters were put in their place 😉

  3. Pingback: Baby Present | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

