Quilt Update

Yes, I’ve been busy making my quilt squares for my mom’s 60th birthday, or her 31st anniversary of her 29th birthday (I hope my cake will be big enough to fit this on it).  I am happy to announce, that I am far ahead of Aunt Neena (not that this is a competition…but it kind of is… in my head…. well she can respond to this herself!)  In all fairness, her sewing machine broke (excuses…she should have started sewing that shit by hand… whoose!)  and she got a new job (I have a toddler, yet I have time to make the squares AND read my book for the book club!)  and she went on vacation (whatever… i can’t remember the last vacation I took…oh yeah, to countries across the pond 5 MONTHS ago) and she’s married (no excuses… her husband does all the cooking and cleaning… it’s bullshit… actually I don’t think she is using that as an excuse, but I am taking creative license here.)

Image

Last weekend during our weekly google chat, I showed her was I was up to, and she showed me the two (HA!!) she finished. And I was jealous. Even though she only had two, hers were really creative. Mine were just the standard ones. O was really excited to show her how we did the footprint and handprint on her square. She demonstrated the whole thing including how the brush tickled her foot when I applied the fabric paint.  I showed

her my 10 ones (that’s right T-E-N!!!) and as I kept putting them down, and O started taking each square one at a time.  And she ran to her room and brought out like 6 dollies, and each dolly had her own square. They were taking a nappie.


About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Crafty Mommy, Family Related Event, Star of the her own movie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quilt Update

  1. Aunty says:

    I feel like I have to attach pictures of my latest creation! A mountain scape encapsulating both of my mum’s wedding flowers!
    The new sewing machine is fantastic so hope to overtake in patches this weekend!

  2. Pingback: What’s the Best Part of Your Day? | RigdewoodMom's Blog

  3. Pingback: Baby Present | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

