Library, Oh How I Love Thee

Have you hear of this wonderful magical place called the Public Library??? No, it’s not quite as comforting as the Container Store, but the Container Store holds its own magical spell over its inhabitants and visitors.  But the Public Library is fantastic!!! I do not remember it being so wonderful when I was growing up. Yes, I frequented it quite a bit in university. I would like to believe the table in the reference library was reserved for me and my friends during our two years of graduate studies.  But the new-found passion I find for the Queens Public Library has no precedent!  I was never part of your web growing up, but now as an adult, I adore you… j’adore!!  I mean, it’s fantastic! I log onto the site, order my books, and a few days later, I receive an e-mail notifying me that my books have arrived!!!  What could be better? We never had such technology as the internet when I was growing up… In fact, my library took over the local ice cream shop and knocked it down in its devastating path of expansion!  I might love you, if I knew you better. But I adore you, Queens Public Library!!!

In case you wanted to keep up with the book club, we are now reading Love in the Time of Cholera. Which let me tell you I LOVE!!!  I read it on the subway, while listening to the Frida soundtrack. And today I had a meeting with a cute older gentleman from Ecuador, so my vision is perfection! Yes, I know Ecuador is not quite Columbia (and Yes, I had to look it up where the book takes place, but that’s what Wikipedia is for…) but I am now content to find out what happens! And don’t tell me what the end…I’m only 50 pages in to it!

Happy Reading, and Happy weekend!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Girls Time, Mommy Dearest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Library, Oh How I Love Thee

  1. Pingback: New Book for Book Club | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

