O… She Is in Such a Mood…

My God!  I don’t know what has happened. Have they switched her food at school?  This weekend she was on a tear!  Thank goodness I had to book club on Saturday, and DH already committed to taking her to the movies.  (By the way, they went to see Alvin and the Chipmunks, Chipwrecked… he said it was terrible!)  But this only means that the rest of the time, I was on.  I am not sure how that works. I mean I go out for long periods of time alone with her, and when I come home, I don’t just dramatically throw myself on the couch and just ignore the world around. But anyway…

Today was just very challenging. We went grocery shopping, which was OK.  Overall she was OK, until she refused to share her Honest Tea with us.  It’s MINE!  But we made it.  Then when we got home, I asked her to wash her hands. She ignored me. She was playing in her room. O, time to wash your hands (I even made a huge effort to not raise my voice, but be firm yet calm.) She ignored me again. O. Time to wash your hands. She comes screaming out of her room, W-H-A-T??? That’s it, time out. No screaming.

Then it was nap time or as I would like to call it… H-E-A-V-E-N!  Imagine choirs of angels singing, that time of euphoria.  And she slept for a good 3 hours.

When she gets up, she is in a much better mood.  She actually goes downstairs and does excercises to with DH.  Kicking their legs, walking around in a circle, lifting weights (her weights were water bottles).  It was super cute!  Then after dinner and bath, it’s time for bed. Then the most shocking thing happens. I am in her bedroom getting her room ready, tiding up a little bit, when I hear in the living room as she is saying something to DH, I am not talking to you… (and I don’t hear the last part). But DH’s reaction is that O obviously said a bad word. She runs in the bedroom, and I ask her, What did you say?  And yells out a sorry to her dad.  And I ask her again what she said, and she starts crying. Obviously it was a bad word. I say to her, let’s go say sorry to Daddy.  And at this point she is hysterical. She follows me in the living room, clearly upset, and I ask him what she said. Apparently she said, I’m not talking to you, stupid.  But it seems she realized it was bad as soon as she said because she ran out of the living room like someone was chasing.

The question is, how does one deal with this?  She is clearly sorry for doing it. I think she did it unintentionally.  What I said to her, I know you are sorry, but it’s not nice, so please don’t do it again. I mean, do you need to punish more…? Not sure. What would you do in this situation?

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in No longer a baby, Running away to Patagonia, Social Ills and such. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to O… She Is in Such a Mood…

  1. Pingback: I Will NOT Listen to You! | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

