Mommy, I Have a Tempeture

I don’t know if you are familiar with this amazing, AMAZING woman, who illustrates the life of a mom in amazingly funny pictures. I first became acquainted with her blog with this post: Well-Child Visit.  This post by far is typical of what happens at doctor’s waiting rooms.

Case in point. On Tuesday, we went to the Neurologist to have a follow up on O’s seizures from last year. It’s been almost one year. She’s been on anti-seizure medication and every three months we go and see him to make sure O is still doing OK.  She’s been fine.  So we get to the doctor’s office, and it’s packed. The waiting room is by far the most disgusting place I’ve ever been. There is absolutely no natural light coming in. There is a “play area” which I look at and I feel you can get tetanus.  And of course, it is the first place O gravitates to. No matter what I bring or how I try to distract her. Each time I go, I totally forget to bring the industrial size anti-bacterial liquid.  This time what made it worse, the lights weren’t working, but the emergency lights were on AND the light in the bathroom wasn’t working. So it just stank.  It was NASTY.

O of course starts playing in the “play area” and she makes a little friend. She’s playing with Melissa & Doug pizza slices, and I can only imagine what kinds of nastiness those things are carrying.

And we wait, and we wait….two hours later, I tell DH he needs to find out what is going on. The receptionist forgot to pull out our file.  We were there for TWO hours.  TWO hours for O to catch whatever the fuck was growing in that waiting room.

As for the neurologist, he tells us she is doing really well. After the year of medication is up, we are going to gradually take her off the medicine and see what happens. After a year of medication, her chances of having another seizure are the same as any other child’s.  The good part is, it first happend when she was sick. And she will be off at the end of April, which is way past the cold season.

Yesterday, I get a phone call. O has a temperature. Which I am not surprised. In fact I’m surprised she doesn’t have ebola or something crazier. I get to school and the teacher tells me that O said to her: I don’t feel like O today.  (so sweet and sad)!!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Health, Preschooler, Subway Rides and Bus Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

