My Kind of Town, Chicago Is!

Normally I don’t like to say on Facebook or on the blog where I am when I am away. Call it paranoia. I mean you never know what those spam messages are all about.

But today, I make an exception because I have HAVE to share this with you because it is totally unprecedented.  I am in Chicago for business trip for two days. And let me tell you, my two days are scheduled to the point of ridiculousness.  I arrived at 8:20 am, took the EL to my hotel (50 minutes), dropped off my bag (room wasn’t ready), then carried two heavy-assed bag to my first meeting (15 minute walk), and I made it to spare 10 minutes.  Then I had some free time until lunch meeting and a meeting following immediately. Tomorrow is even crazier: public transport and back to back to back meeting and to the airport. CRAZY!!

I spoke to O tonight. She kept asking me if I was coming home tonight. No, tomorrow. Oh ok. Here is Daddy.  I guess that’s it!

Tonight I took the opportunity to go to Rick Bayless’s Frontera Grill. As I sat in my unusually gigantic hotel room (it’s the size of a small studio apartment in Manhattan), I was getting super lazy, but I knew I had to leave then or I will ordering room service.  But I pulled myself by my bootstraps and off I went in the cold (in all honesty, I was expecting it to be much colder, so it felt a bit like a crisp winter day. I’ve been here with like 3 feet of snow, so this was nothing!) I arrived, sat my ass at the bar, and reviewed the menu. I was so exited to order, that I ended up ordering three things, two of which I immediately regretted two seconds after they came. Don’t get me wrong, the plantains and the baked beans were awesome, but it wasn’t exciting enough. As I sat there regretting my food, drinking my wine, and reading my book, three gentlemen sat down next to me.  They ordered something that looked awesome, and I wished I had ordered it (sigh).  As I sat there drinking my 2nd glass of wine, the guy next to me starts asking me about my book.  And I tell him, but thinking yeah, yeah, go back to your gin and tonic, dude. But he keeps talking, and it turns out we work in the same industry. He was way too drunk to keep in mind that I work in a completely different part of the industry than what he was trying to connect me to. I tried explaining that I don’t do that, but I think he was three sheets to the wind, when he asked me for the 4th time where I am from.  As we keep talking, he tells the really nice bartender,  Put hers on my tab.  I though I heard wrong. After 10 more minutes he tells me he has to go back to his colleagues, but it was nice to blah blah blah. I return the compliment.

I finish my wine, and I ask for my bill. The bartender says, Well, he said he’ll pay for it. I say to him, do you think he knows I ordered food too?  I don’t know, just say thanks, I guess. I thank the gentleman, I give the bartender a tip, and I walk out before the guy changes his mind.

Now I totally regret my food selection.  Damn! I should have ordered something better! And I wasn’t even wearing anything sexy, just a very conservative turtleneck. I know, S-E-X-Y!! But still, it’s never happened to me before.

I don’t feel so bad. The guy was pretty high up in his company, and to be honest, he won’t remember what they ordered!  Free food for moi!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest, Perfection!, Subway Rides and Bus Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

