OMG, I Have a Mommy Date!!!!

What on earth will I wear???  I have finally taken the plunge and am making an effort at making friends with other mommies in the neighborhood.  It’s been tough because there aren’t many places in the area where you can meet new mommies, especially when I first had O. The Y only recently reopened. And there are not Mommy and Me classes. It’s a very traditional Polish neighborhood, where they already have friends or family in the area to help.  Then O’s first daycare was pretty far away from the house, and none of those mommies seemed all that keen to meet outside of daycare. Granted, the woman who took care of O for the first while has two daughters now, and the oldest one was O’s original older sister and best friend. We are still friendly and see each other every so often. So I shouldn’t totally complain.

But now that O is in a bigger preschool, I decided that I should really make an effort. And plus not having family around, it might be nice to trade off kids to have a date night or sleep night!

So with the Christmas show, I met a lot of the parents, and they all seemed really nice. Part of my New Year’s Resolution was to make more Mommy friends. On Tuesday, I took the plunge and asked my first Mommy on a date.  And today she responded. We (O and I) have a date with O’s best friend and her Mommy.  We are going to kids film festival, and I hope we like each other. And possibly become long lost Mommy soul mates!!

And Yes, I already judged them at the Christmas show. But they passed. They are young,  trendy (could possibly be too trendy, but let’s wait and see), and O and their daughter are super sweet together. So a plus!!

I’m so nervous for my first date!!

 

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Girls Time, Mommy Dearest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OMG, I Have a Mommy Date!!!!

  1. Pingback: O and BFF, Rose | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

