Bad Parent

Not a good way to start 2012, but I have to admit… we did something that was not so nice.

On Monday, as we were coming back from our skiing and freezing our asses off in the mountains (if you thought it was freaking cold here in New York, the mountains were no picnic.) All of Sunday was spent indoors, watching football (GO GIANTS!) and stoking the fire.  Fortunately, we limited our activities to the living room, and two bedrooms in the front of the house. The rest of the bedrooms were closed off.  Anyway, so we leave on Monday, and head home. I had already told the day care that O will not be attending on Monday. But at the last-minute, we calculate, well we’ll be home by noon, why don’t we just drop O off at school, and spend the rest of the afternoon in peace and quiet?  At first, when DH proposes this, I feign shocked and hurt. But as O starts to complain and whine, she is really not helping her case.  The whining continues, and I too agree, it would be nice to vege and do nothing. After all of Sunday was NOT spent vegging and watching football.  We already paid for the day.  We will probably make it there right before lunch is served.  So we call up, and say something has come up and we have to drop her off.

As we get to the school, she sees it down the street and says here is my school. I take her inside and she starts crying. Mommy, I want to stay with you and Daddy… (tears…) I am such an evil mother, as I say, I’m sorry sweetie, but Mommy and Daddy have to go to work.  (more tears) and for two seconds there I think that maybe we should just take her home. But Season 1 of Downton Abbey is calling me… luring me to laying down in my comfy bed and watching the show…. So close my ears… Then she refuses to come out of the toilet when I try to say bye.  Oh well, let the teacher deal with it.

When we went to pick her up, she was very excited to see us, and told us that she had fun at school. Her best friend wasn’t there, she was sick. And then she tells us how she painted and played with Michael!

We might not be getting an award, but hey, everyone was happy in the end!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Family Related Event, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest, Running away to Patagonia, Terrible Twos with a Vengeance, What Baby Is Chatting About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

