Wouldn’t You Know It?

As soon as I say, Look at me! Look how wonderful O is!  Look how lucky I am! Did I just shoot myself in the foot by saying that?  Why, yes, I did! I’m sure it makes you feel a little better, and less likely to throw up a little in your mouth because of my smugness. Never fear, I am being punished.

O has entered yet a new phase. This phase is hard to define. Because she’s not cranky. She’s not whiny. She’s not crying.  She’s actually quite happy. So why am I bitching?  Well because this new phase I would like to call it, Let’s see how much I can annoy Mommy and Daddy.  That’s right. There is no other way to describe it.  She’s all laughs. She’s a funny maker (as she calls herself).  But she needs to take it to the next level that gets annoying.  A few examples.

Exhibit A: The other night, DH was showing actual pictures of the Muji London in a Bag and New York in a Bag. She was super excited to see the London Eye in the picture or Statue of Liberty.  DH was laying on the floor with the laptop. O decided because of her excitement in seeing these things in actual pictures, what better way to celebrate this, than jump on Daddy’s back. We tell her no. She jumps again and starts hysterically laughing.

Exhibit B: Later on that same night, she’s taking a bath, and instead of standing up to wash her little tooshie, she decides it’s funnier to try to bend over face first in the water to wash her hair while hysterically laughing.  The problem with this, she could swallow water and start choking. She was not listening at all.

Exhibit C: O, don’t jump on the couch.  Jump Jump Jump. You are going to fall and hit your head on the very very angular coffee table. Jump Jump Jump JUMP and laughing.  Maybe it’s the laughing that’s so infuriating.  Maybe the fact that she’s not taking no or stop as the final word.  Sigh….

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Running away to Patagonia, Star of the her own movie, Terrible Twos with a Vengeance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

