What’s on TV?

Do you guys watch the show Parenthood?  If I can manage to stay up to the wee hours of the morning that I call 11 pm, I usually try to catch it on Tuesday nights. Otherwise, on demand is a god send! I like the show because there are enough couples that everyone is bound to relate to one of the them or their parenting style.  I would like to think that DH and I in our parenting style are similar to Julia and Joel. I think because she works full time, and they have only one daughter.  Last night’s episode I found quite amusing as their daughter throws a complete temper tantrum about losing at games and is basically locked in her room until she calms down. Ah… the stubbornness that is my daughter! The scene rang so true to me!

The one parent I just can not CAN NOT relate to is Sarah.  Her good kid got a D in math. She tells him he can’t see his girlfriend during the week. He sneaks out, she catches him, and grounds him.  I think a totally fair punishment.  She was reasonable at first, but he disobeyed her. At the end of the episode she goes back to APOLOGIZES to him for overreacting. And they share Ben & Jerry’s what I assume is some sort of chunky chocolate chip ice cream. That to me drove me crazy!  She should not be apologizing. He should be sorry. His first punishment was fair. I don’t know. I just drove me crazy, and I don’t agree. Grades are more important than his first girlfriend. And once he shows he can balance the two, he can see her again.

Am I being unfair? What do you think?

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Mommy Dearest, TV and boob tube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

