Biggest Pet Peeve

Coming from an Eastern Euro country, a formerly a communist country, where everything was done for you becuase well, there was zero unemployment, or so the government said. So there was no need to be responsible, like putting trash in the bins. You could just throw it on the street, a someone would come and clean it up.  This idea that you can just throw out your trash on the street, annoys me to no end.  And it runs in the family. Especially my in-laws.  My MIL was walking down the street, when some punks threw their garbage at a street light. Now the 5 ft 100 lb woman, picks up the trash, knocks on their window, and says, I believe you dropped this.

My husband got in an argument with a 70 year old woman in the parking lot of a Wendy’s not too long ago because she just threw her garbage out on the road.  I have told people on the subway who leave their coffee cups on under seat that they forgot something. I have even eyed someone for like 6 stops because I knew, I JUST KNEW, he put the cup there to leave it on the subway. He picked it up before he got off. I mean, what the fuck is wrong with you? If you can carry it on the subway, you can carry it off the fucking subway, and dump it into one of the 10 cans they have on the platform. Is it really that difficult for your difficult little nature?  Do you leave trash around your house like that? Be considerate. You are not the only person riding the subway, and it is respectful to pick it up.

Years and years ago, my cousins who were 10 at the time came to visit us from the Eastern Euro country. The Eastern Euro country had recently become a capitalist country, and it was fucking dirty. Absolutely no respect. The country could no longer afford to employ the thousands of people needed to clean up after peoples’ shit, and trash was every where… in parks, on the street, in subways. It was fucking disgusting (and I speak from memory because I was there that same year.)  I really thought I would catch something from just walking down to the subway.  Since then it’s been cleaned up, but for a good 10 years, I didn’t want to go visit because my memories from childhood became completely tainted by trash.  Anyway, I digress…

So my 10 year old cousins come to visit. We go to the city, I buy them an ice cream each with a wrapper. They finish their ice cream, and they just throw the wrapper on the ground…with a trash can 3 feet away. I was so shocked, I was speechless for a good 10 minutes, and that NEVER happens. I scolded them so much, and their reply is, well someone will come pick it up.  Anyway, to this day, they are 26, they still remember me scolding them. I would like to think (and believe) that they never threw anything out on the street again.

Sometimes I give O something, and she too throws it on the ground, and I have made her pick up her trash many times, through tears and protests.  But I will not raise a litter-bug of a daughter.  But parents who lead by bad example, really really bugs me. Like the Mom on Friday just left her trash on the subway platform. And this was after he son picked it up to take with him. She takes it out of his hand and leaves it on the platform. The trash can was but a meare feet away. And no she was not rushing to catch the subway.

Seriously!  Pick up after yourself!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Subway Rides and Bus Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

