List for the Party

With O’s birthday fast approaching, she has been on me non stop about it.  I happen to mention it when we went to a party a few weeks ago. Now, this is a warning… kids don’t know when it’s their birthday. But I made the horrible mistake in telling her that her birthday is coming up and she is a having a party.  Every day, she says to me, My priends are coming to my party??? Yes they are. I want them to come, Mama!! (she switches to Mama when things are really really desperate. And obviously having to wait for her birthday party is almost the end of the world type of desperation.)  Well, they will come, when it’s your party.  We have to WAIT! (and her eyes get bigger than they usually are, and she stares at me intently as if waiting for me to disagree with her.)  That’s right, we have to wait for your party. Then she tells me that we will turn off the lights, and sing happy birthday and she blows out the candles. When we try to mess with her, and say Daddy will blow out the candles, NO! I blow the candles.

If she is in a particularly bad mood, she starts begging for her priends to come now.  On Thursday when we spent the day at home, sick, and with fever, she pushes me toward the kitchen to start making her birthday cake.

But I am very excited about her party. My crafty gene has really emerged. The theme is still top secret just because I think the guests will have more fun to see it without getting a preview. Today I ran from Michaels to AC Moore and I still don’t have everything I need. I still have to go to Economy Candy and possibly Broadway Panhandlers (even though because of their really shitty return policy, I swore I wouldn’t go back).  I made my order from Oriental Trading Company, only to find out that I needed one more thing. I’m going to see if I can add some stuff to the order.  I will be baking for almost the entire week before her birthday!  But I can’t wait to share the crafty things I did and hopefully O’s surprise at her fabulous party. I hope it lives up to all her expectations. But I guess if all you need is a cake and some candles, it’s hard to be impressed!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Crafty Mommy, So not fair, Star of the her own movie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

