Last Night Was a Good Night

We now measure our evenings based on the scale that are O’s moods.  Last night on a scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being I should have tied my tubes YEARS ago to 10 being Of course you must reproduce!  Usually we are oscillate between 4 and 6, with 8 being a super good day.  Yesterday, I would say it was an 8. It started off as a 10 when I went to pick her up at preschool.  We walked home sans stroller, and it was going well. We talked about the people waiting for the priends to come pick them up at the subway to what she did at school.  Then the inevitable, My peet are tired. I caaaaaaaaaaaaan’t walk anymore.  So I tried what my therapist suggested. Put it to her as challenge. Even as she suggested this to me, I thought, My O would NEVER ever fall for this nonsense. But I gave it a go. Oh, O. You’re right. I don’t think you can make it to the corner. It is much to far for you.  You are too little.  And my darling, brilliant daughter responds: Yeah. I can’t make it all the way over there.  I knew what I know about her.  But what got her going is that we need to go get the car, and the car is at the house. So on we march.  And march.  The second we turn onto our street, she becomes a whiny kid.

But anyway, we make it in the house. She promptly gets a time out for not listening. DH has dinner ready and we eat.  She wants chicken, and all we have are mini hot dogs with potatoes and carrots.  We divert the chicken situation by telling her those are chicken dogs. But whereas the night before she inhaled the carrots, last night she declared she, No like carrots anymore.  But I took a friend’s advice, and just told her that if she wants a treat she needs to finish eating. After I finished my food, I walked away, and I went to get my snack. She stayed at the table and FINISHED ALL HER FOOD! Including the previously offending carrots!  A good day indeed.

She got her treat, but then wanted to eat DH’s ice cream only.  Then we sat down, she complained a bit after Max and Ruby was over that she wanted another show, but we sat down and watched the President speak.  Then she promptly went to sleep, with one book, no fuss…  Yesterday was a good day!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in No longer a baby, Perfection!, Where O Is Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

