Yoohoo!!! Where Are You?

Sorry for my recent absence.

First, the hurricane was the storm that never was. We barely got hit. We did end up watching Toy Story one too many times, and had a bit of cabin fever. So we were really excited to get out on Sunday at 2 pm to go to the park for a little bit.  Until the wind started picking up, and we began to have an irrational fear that a tree limb would fall off a tree and hit O square in the head. We headed home in a bit of a panic.  But thank goodness all was good. And no leaks in the basement (KNOCK-ON-WOOD!!! DO IT! DO IT NOW!!!!)

This weekend we are celebrating my dad’s or Papa or also known as Pampa’s birthday. It’s a big one. It’s a milestone one. So I’ve been busy working on secret video project that has quickly escalated into my OCD/ perfection nature. It started off innocently enough. I asked some his friends, friends in the US and from the former Eastern Bloc country, to send me short video (30 seconds the email said) telling me a funny story about my dad.  I sent the email at the beginning of August asking for a clear deadline of August 15th.  The 15th came and went, and I only got one video back.  Slowly, everyone has been sending theirs in.  I asked my mom to scan pictures, but she doesn’t know about the videos. She thinks it’s only with pictures. But she too has been slowing in getting me these. And only after I started working on it, did I realize that I do need more pictures.  Anyway, it’s been a lot of waiting game and stuff. AND I also volunteered to make my Dad’s birthday cake, since I now the new Betty Crocker of the group.  AND it’s Uncle Dan’s birthday as well, and he too will be coming, and I’ve promised to make rice pudding for him. So by tonight I have to finish the rice pudding, editing the video and exporting the video, and making the fucking cake.  Last night I made the rice pudding, which frankly is not as good as the first time I made. But I have no time to do it again.  Tonight I have to make the cake, the baked cake batter needs to sit in the fridge for 24 hours. And after I assemble the cake, it needs to sit in the fridge for another 24 hours. What the hell was I thinking??

I KNOW! I figured people would send me their fucking videos on time.

Last night after I made the questionable tasting rice pudding, I continued working on the video. I am now waiting for the last delinquent video, my brother-in-law’s and that’s it. I think my family from former Eastern Bloc country should be sending videos too, but it’s too late. Way too much work to do at the last minute. But I will eventually add them and five them all to my dad.

If I survive tonight, I think it will be OK.

By the way, O is with her grandparents this weekend, so I am thankful for small miracles!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Crafty Mommy, Parents, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yoohoo!!! Where Are You?

  1. tartetitou says:

    I hope that after you were done baking the cake, whipping up the rice pudding and working on the video project, you had a nice tall glass of vino!

    • RidgewoodMom says:

      Yes, FINALLY, I did manage to relax. However, the mocha marzipan frosting was a bit of a nightmare. But the whole weekend was a great success!

Leave a Reply

