I No Wanna Like You A-NY-MORE

After the wonderful loving note of I Miss You Mommy, last night was a completely different story.  Since her stint in the hospital, I have been staying with her in her room, holding her hand as she falls asleep.  Sometimes she falls asleep right away. But sometimes I am stuck in there for 45 minutes.  Which would be great if I could read. But the lights must be off. So I am stuck either catching up on my GoogleReader or playing card games on my iPhone.

I have made an executive decision that I must put a stop to it. No more. She’s a big girl now. She goes to the potty (peepee only) on a regular basis. She’s starting “chool” next week (preschool) so no more baby things like holding hands when falling asleep. Instead, I sit on her little chair right by the door and wait for her to fall asleep (baby steps!!)

This was of course met with the usual rebellions. The first night, she screamed her head off like I was scolding her with hot oil.  But she eventually settled down. The next night, her cries were more fake.  I was a little disappointed with the effort she putting in it.  I mean, if you are going to cry, you might as well cry like you mean it.  My disappointment fade quickly as she pulled the piece-de-resistance…she bellows through the fake tears, “Mommy, I NO WANNA LIKE YOU!!! A-NY-MORE!!  You not my friend! ”  I have to stop myself from laughing out loud. She is obviously expressing her frustration, and I could possibly be the worst mom ever if I just laughed in her face. Instead, I maturely respond, “That’s Ok, O. Mommy still loves.”  She continues telling me this for a good 5 minutes , “I no MISS YOU A-NY-MORE” (if it’s not clear, she is putting heavy emphasis on each syllable). And I tell her, “Don’t worry. Mommy still loves you and I still like you.”  “I will stay right here. Mommy is not going anywhere.”

Finally she is sound asleep, and I have to make my quiet escape…

DH says to me as soon as I am in the safety of the living room, “I understand she doesn’t like you anymore!”  And we both chuckle!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in No longer a baby, Terrible Twos with a Vengeance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

