O’s Bath

O is 2 years and 7 months and during this time, DH has never, I mean NEVER, given O a bath. I am not sure how it happened, but here we are, and he has no idea what to do at bath time.  Today I am making a garlic shrimp with rice pilaf, and cleaning shrimp is a pain in the ARSE!!  What I thought would take me 20 minutes to clean, it ended up being 45 minutes.  As the time keeps on ticking, I ask DH to give O her bath.

He starts the water, and O her usual helpful self, I want Mommy give me a bath.  I no want daddy.  O, just take a bath with Daddy.  Tears…I no want Daddy.  DH says, Come on, O.  I’ll show you neat tricks in the bath.  And did he ever.

As I continue peeling shrimp, I hear O, tearfully getting in the bath, with the usual drama. No, Too hot.  Add cold water.  Is this OK? Yeah, Ok.  I hear some splashes. I hear DH trying to convince her to wet her hair.  Then I hear more tears. More from DH, Just put your head back.  Even more tears. O, MY EYE HURTS!  Finally DH admits defeat at the hands of O. He calls me in there.  I go in there, and O has been playing with the soap, hence soapy hands, hence stinging eyes. Me: Why did you let her play with the soap? HE: She said she wanted to. ME: She’s 2-1/2.  You listen to reasoning of two years olds?  HE: I didn’t know. How do you rinse her hair? She doesn’t want to put her head back to put water from the pail on her head.  ME: (as I take the wash cloth and rinse her hair, while holding her head back) This way. HE: Ah, with rag. ME: Yes, with the wash cloth.

I finish rinsing her and dry her up. Of course, I normally set up her bath towel ready to pull her out of the bath, I have something to dry her right away. DH of course did not think beyond the actual bath.

I don’t think her hair was washed properly. But whatever, I am hoping just like DH taking her to the bathroom to go peepee, I have not missed the boat to get DH to do the not always so fun things.

PS The garlic shrimp with pilaf was super yummy. The recipe will be added to the Recipe Binder to be made in the future.  But possibly cheating with frozen already peeled shrimp. But it was really really good!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest, Recipes, Where O Is Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

