How Do You Know You Are Doing the Right Thing?

Today, as we are celebrating Boozy Friday at the office (every Friday, at 3 pm we have a glass or two of wine) I am wondering if what I am doing is the right thing.  Over the weekend we were listing to an episode of Freakonomics Radio on NPR, and they were talking about the economics of children. And basically interviewing economists on what the theories of raising children are and exactly what they do to raise their own children.  The basic conclusion (before we lost the signal) was that what parents do influences kids very little. The swim lessons, the museum outings, the reading every night. But things like alcohol drinking and smoking influences children more (I guess I am not doing the right thing by partaking in Boozy Friday). I smoke no more.  Things like compassion and empathy that’s what they learn from you. But the extra stuff like the $350 baby classes, not so much.

So then, I wonder, if all the extra stuff I do O won’t really influence her future her, is what I am doing on a day-to-day hurting or helping her? I think she’s pretty aware of her environment. She has empathy (the tears she sheds for the freaking ASPCA commercial, it’s telling. Freaking Sarah McLachlan…)  and she’s polite (thank yous and bless yous for sneezes).  But what about the rest of the stuff.  The times when I’m whining, and cursing at the car that cut me off (No, bad word, Mommy!)…

But I hug her, and love her, and tickle her, and kiss her, and play with her, and I try to introduce her to new foods even though she fights me kicking and screaming…

And each day I marvel at how big she is, and how amazingly funny and charming she is. And curse and pray for strength the day she turns 14 and wants to go out with boys….

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest, So not fair. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

