Cash Is not Easy

Switching to cash only has been quite challenging.  Breakfast and lunch now must stay within the designated cash allowance for the week.  I’ve had to make sacrificases (term used very very loosely) when choosing my lunch. I can no longer go on an orgy of the food bar at WholeFoods. I now have to chose a measly container of salad from their preselected 2 for $5 section. Or going for really cheap lunches. Yesterday, I spent a whopping $2.00 on lunch from Vanessa’s Dumplings. It was really yummy, so a definitely alternative.  But with still trying to pay off the credit cards from the previous months, I have to go ahead and do some funny accounting in order to make the money last.

However, it’s not really possible to go through life without a card. If there are any of you out there who do, I am really amazed and in awe of you.  Even with my resolution to not use cards, I have had to anyway: Oldnavy.com purchase (credit card); metro card (credit card), O’s Diapers (credit card) there is just no avoiding it.

It is just so, so easy to take out the plastic and say, CHARGE IT, BIATCH!  So easy. I guess much too easy. This is a challenge. On my trip to Target I did use cash only, so I guess I am trying. I wonder how long it will last.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

