On a Budget??

The question mark is because it’s not a real budget, but it’s a mental budget.  Since January, I’ve been trying to pay off the credit cards and somehow I never manage to.  I know January had a lot of Christmas purchases, several ski trips (ski lift tickets are EXPENSIVE!!), more purchases, and of course a lot of brunches.  So now, I have made a resolution: No more credit cards (unless online purchases and only if must be).  On Thursday I started my cash only purchases.  Yes, I have been limited to breakfast and lunch. On Thursday I stopped at WholeFoods (because in all fairness they do have really good deals sometimes. If you know the unit cost of things, you can get really awesome deals) and purchased some goodies for O with Auntie R’s gift card.

Surprisingly, I was able to limit my purchases. On Saturday O and I went to Sam’s house for play date with her very cutie twins C & M.  Unlike the last play date where we were running after them, preventing them from getting into trouble, this time it was mellower. Even though they only started playing together at the end of our time together, O played by herself, without much interaction from me or Sam.  Sam and I sat on a bench and just talked and enjoyed the kids playing together.

One of the things we talked about was budgets, and she too has decided to switch to cash only. Weird. And this got us talking about the show Extreme Couponing. If you haven’t seen it, it is AWESOME!  But it is also a little disturbing how much crap some of those people buy. I can’t go into how they do it, it will take this post over, jut google the show, and you will see what I mean.  But I find it fascinating where these women can find the coupons.  I remember growing up with the Sunday paper FULL of coupons. Now you can hardly find them.  But this weekend, I did my own half assed version of extreme couponing. I went online and downloaded Huggies, Tropicana and Red Baron. I know, it’s hardly extreme. However, when I got to Target today (I know, this brings up why would I go to Target when I switched to cash only…) the Tropicana AND Red Baron were on sale. I guess if I was an extreme couponer I would have researched online and I would have known what was on sale, and I would have had more than one coupon.

I guess next time.

OH YEAH, and the most important information I found out, Target now has Honest Kids Tea, which was (I hope you are sitting down) $1.99 for the apple juice, and $2.69 for the Fruit Punch. At WholeFoods they had it “on sale” for 2 boxes for $8.  That is twice the price at Target. That’s what I mean about know the unit prices for WholeFoods.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

