What you doing, Mommy??

This has been one of her favorite questions in the last four months. There are variations to the questions: sincere curiosity, joking around (where she furrows her brow and puts her hands on hips and says it with a semi serious voice) or just being annoying and repeating it over and over again.  It also goes into Mommy, what are they doing?  Looking at kids playing. Watching the TV.  Looking out the window as we are stopped at a light.  Mommy, what Daddy doing??  I usually tell her, but if the answer is not good enough. Mommy, what Daddy doing??  I don’t know, O. Why don’t you go ask him?  Sometimes she does: OK, she says and runs off to find him. And sometimes, that is not good enough. Mommy, what Daddy doing??

So with all the What-this-and-that-doing questions, I thought we would skip the Why phase. Well, I am here to let you know, that right now we are in an overlapping phase of, What bird doing? Eating food. BUT WHY??  Because he’s hungry. WHY?  Because he’s a pigeon.  But WHY?  Because he is. Ok, Mommy.

It’s still mostly what-are-they-doing but in the last few weeks a lot I mean A LOT of Whys have made it through.

How much explanation should I give? I try to keep it to a minimum. But if she gets really annoying is then on the 5th why, I do get her back by getting all technical on her ass.  Maybe some of it will stick in her little brain and by the time she does math or science it will all come back to her. Or by the time she does math or science she realizes her mother was a complete idiot and gave her the entirely wrong information. I think I need to brush on my physical science and biology.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

