Long Weekend, Gone!

I guess the summer has begone!  We spent the weekend with my parents and DH’s oldest friend and his family.  He is married and has a 7 year old son.  Now, I am not sure how to put this, but let’s just say I was happy that we were leaving today. I wish we could have had another day to relax with my parents and O, but if it’s not meant to be, then I am happy that I am home… alone (relatively that is).  If you remember, a few years ago I wrote a formal apology to the Mom for being such a bitch and not understanding her son’s needs.  Well, I take it back.

Being a mom now, I think I have grown more patient, but I still have limits. Limits of what is acceptable, limits of how my child should behave, and limits on how my child treats other kids. This is not the case with them and their child. Now O is a girl and is 2-1/2.  This little boy had absolutely no empathy for what he was doing to other people and especially O.  Most of the time, he spent his time doing things to annoy the grown ups (his parents excluding) and O especially.

If she was playing with a toy, he would go and grab the toy from her. She would start crying, and I would have to say, O, you have to share. But after a full weekend of this, even she stopped believing that she should be the only one sharing.  Through tears, But Mommy, I share!!!  Breaks your heart.  He did share, his pencils, but even those, he would pull them out of her hands if he wanted to.

Or he would go around just scaring her. Jumping out from behind whatever and saying BOO.  At first she cried, then she just said, Hey you cared (scared) me!  It was cute and sad. I would try to tell him to stop, but considering his parents hardly disciplined him, my request went on deaf ears.

As for the grownups, he would smack our butts, really hard, and I would say inappropriately.  He would go around with one of O’s loudest toys and push the button over and over again. I took it from him twice. He wouldn’t pick up after himself. After taking out 4 decks of cards, my mom made him count them and put them away.

Then the worst was on Sunday afternoon, after I was already fed up, and O was getting tired. We were at the beach, O was making sand shapes.   The boy comes up, after filling up the water guns my mom gave him to play with, and starts shooting O in the face with the water gun. O understandably was freaking out. His mom says, Not in the face, buddy. (O is still screaming), the mom continues, See, I told you she wouldn’t like it.  I say, J, you need to stop right now. He continues. O is behind me, and he is still shooting. I tell him again to stop. He responds, But it’s not in the face. I say, she doesn’t like it, so you need to stop. He continues.  That’s when I say, That’s it! And I take the gun from him. I told you to stop, now go play somewhere else.  He runs crying to his mom, who hugs him and instead of telling him that he should have stopped or that it’s inappropriate behavior, she soothes him.  They both didn’t talk to me for about two hours, which was good riddance.

It was just exhausting being around him. He isn’t cute, he doesn’t listen, and he has a annoying personality.  And I feel like poor O just got the worst of it.  But now, we are home, and she can get back to normal!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest, So not fair and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long Weekend, Gone!

  1. Aunty says:

    Oh dear!

Leave a Reply

