Happy Birthday, Dear Husband!

(He won’t read this, so I can pretty much say whatever I want… but when I start making millions off the blog, he might change his tune).

Today is my dear husband’s birthday! He is older than me (which makes me feel better, but since he’s closer to the big 4-0, he always takes away the attention from my panics by bringing back to him.)

For his birthday I got him the gift that keeps on giving… The Settlers of Catan.  He asked for it, so I got it for him.  O and I sang him happy birthday in the car, including blowing out the imaginary candles (sss in the plural, because there are many, many candles).  As O pulled herself out of the car seat, she went between the two front seats, gave her dad a kiss and said, Happy birthday, Daddy! (AWWWWWWWWWWWW…so freaking cute… with her bob blond hair and severely straight bangs….)  As her farther was saying it’s the best present ever, she lost interest and was closing the car door. I guess you can’t ask for too much.

For dinner I’m making roast asparagus with long pepper gremolata and Lemon shallot baked salmon (I think I bought too much salmon), which sounds yummy!!!  Then this weekend, DH and O will spend all of Sunday together, in a loving day about them and for them only.

I hope he realizes how special he is, and I know he works really hard. And although I am tough sometimes, I do it out of love. And I do try really hard to do eliminate the things that irritate him, and he is trying the same thing.

This year has been a tough one with O, and I am grateful we were there together to deal with it, and now I know that we can deal with whatever the world throws at us.  He is a great dad, as exhibited by his great imagination with O. Although I am the serious one (with reading, numbers, shapes, colors, etc.) Dad is the one who makes up songs and parades around the house.  He is the one that introduced the Umpa Lumpa song to O, changing the lyrics to make O as the center character.  He is the one who started the parade of “We Got the monster” over and over, including a tambourine, head shaking and feet stomping.

Happy Birthday!!! To the fun and creative parent!!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Father Dearest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday, Dear Husband!

  1. Aunty says:

    I want to hear the umpa lumpa song!

Leave a Reply

