Ladies and Gentleman, I Am Back!

I was going to write a loving post about being a Mom, loving my mom, new found respect for my mom, loving my daughter, but then I realized that you have (a) are over mother’s day (b) have read about 5 billion posts along the same vein (c) I think I wrote about this last year…

Instead I will try to be as funny as O is on a regular basis.  For mother’s day, my side of the family descended upon us (in a good way, not a bad way at ALL).  All day Friday, O was telling us the puppy is coming tomorrow, and nodded very knowingly.

Saturday morning was spent aggressively cleaning the house.  My love/ hate relationship with my hardwood floors continues.  I don’t know how they can accumulate so much crud.  I would swiffer, and two seconds later, crumbs, crud and dust bunnies. Where the fuck do they come from???  I digress…. O was her usual helpful self. Taking a normal size broom, and proceeded to knock over every single framed picture off the wall. She got really upset by it.  I even scrubbed the stove top.  And just as I was about to step into the shower, I heard the family coming through the door.  (DH did the grocery shopping and was preparing a snack for everyone.)

After an hour debate of where we should spend the rest of the beautiful Saturday afternoon, we finally convinced DH that no, it won’t take us 2 hours to get to Central Park at 107th street.  So we all packed in two cars, and drove to the Conservatory Garden.  O got to throw pennies in the fountain, and pose with flowers, feed the ducks (I know we are not supposed to, but there was a guy there already feeding them.)

Then on the way back home, O rocked out to We Will Rock You, by Queen. Her fist was pumping in the air, telling me that I must do like this (make fist and pump in the air). She really got into the song, and even was banging her head against the car seat.  You know how you watch those nature documentaries, where the tribes do the chanting, and they look all high and cracked out…. well O had a similar expression on her face as she was pumping her fist.  Like she was in trance.  She really let sweet melody of Queen take over her fist!  She would even try to say the words.

The next day, we walked around the West Village, where my parents were holding hands (CUTENESS), while DH and I were trying to get O to not try to pick up every stick off the ground.  If only we were multi-millionaires….

During brunch, O was pretty well behaved. She even ate a little bit.  But before the food came, she was drinking a lot of apple juice, so we told her she needs to wait for her food first.  This rule of course applied to everyone at the table.  Anytime DH or my mom would try to take a sip of their beer, O would say, NO drinking. It’s eat time!  No, no, no (and wag her finger at the person).

After a few more hours of walking around, we made our way back home, where after everyone left, DH fell asleep at 6, O was asleep by 7:15, and I was left completely alone, in charge of the remote control… Perfect bliss, and an awesome way to end a jam packed weekend!

Happy Mother’s Day to all!

PS I got a salad spinner!!! YEY! I was so excited!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest, Parents, Perfection! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

