What Is Wrong with Me?

I find myself (again) in a vortex of my age. I don’t know how I can be so spacey about my actual age? I mean, how hard is it to keep track of how old you are?

Finding out that Kurt Cobain died 17 years ago, that’s right, it was SEVENTEEN years ago.  I feel like I’ve already vented about this in a previous post. But because of my age, you will have to forgive an old lady with her memory being shot.  Again, this was shocking news to find out it happened SEVENTEEN years ago.  I can still remember where I was when I found out. Ok vaguely (I reference the old lady syndrome).  I was in school, probably working on some after school theater production.  I don’t remember if I cried. I only appreciated them later, but still it was sad to find out.

Ok, but back to the problem at hand.  Last night as Auntie R and I sat on my couch watching an Ovation Prerecorded movie, Broken Flowers (Ovation has much too many commercials, but they usually have really good movies on. The night before we watched Mommy, Dearest, an AWESOME Faye Dunaway movie. She is amazing in it!!) In case you haven’t seen it, or are too lazy to click on the IMDB link, the premise is this guy is revisiting old flames to figure out which one had birthed a son, which he had previously never known about.  So he travels, we are lead to believe, across the country, even though the scenery looks the same in each spot.  Auntie R observes, This would never happen in this day and age with Facebook. Now you can just click and find out what that person has been up to. So right, Auntie R! I agree.  You know, she continues, I think I am going to delete my profile when I turn 40.  I respond (this is where the vortex occurs), What in like 15 years?  She’s looks at me, a little crestfallen, No, that’s in 8 years!!!  My jaw dropps.  That would make me 40 in 5 years!! We are both almost in tears at this shocking revelations. She says, I picked 40 because it was so far away.  But now that you mention it, maybe we should change to 45…  (deep sigh….)

Then this morning, because the universe wasn’t clear enough about my age (and maybe just to prove Auntie R’s point), I got a friend request on facebook from an old friend from high school.  Don’t get me wrong, I look forward to reconnecting, but why the next day?

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Is Wrong with Me?

  1. Sam says:

    In 5 years???? Really??? WOW. Just WOW.

Leave a Reply

