Shhh, Don’t Tell My Mom

If you know my mom, don’t even mention this. If she gets a slight whiff of this in the air, she will be on me like a bad rash… And she will become completely insufferable.

The incident with O has really put things in perspective for us.  We live pretty far away from both sets of parents. My parents live 2 hours away, and his mom lives in another country.  It’s not like other moms who work part-time or have a flexible work schedule that she can come stay with us for days on end. No, she has a full time job and she’s a relatively young mom, meaning that she’s not scheduled to retire for another 6 years!!!!  By then, O will be in school.  So kind of useless…

The bottom line is that we don’t really have any free time.  Every night we have to be home, and yes we can take turns going out. And friends have offered to babysit. I am not sure how ready they really are to deal with O in her full obnoxious glory.  And parents are much better at dealing with bebes.

Last night, DH and I started chatting and I confessed that sometimes I think of leaving it all here, and moving closer to my parents.  Fortunately, they live pretty close to a major city, so the fantasizing won’t put us completely in the burbs (which I don’t think I could ever ever go back to).  But the shocking thing was the DH was thinking the same thing.  WOW!!  And for the same reasons.  It would be so much easier to have family closer to us. And our extended family is all in the area.  So even if Mom or Dad aren’t available, there are Aunties there to step in if needed.

So this morning, maybe in a totally let’s-see-how-you-can-torture-yourself, I looked at properties online, and got really depressed to find out how much more you can get for your buck in the new potential city.  For a single family, in an old brownstone type (not the super trendy area) it’s like 1/4 of the price of what we have.  MY GOD! So not fair. But now the wheels are turning and churning… Wishful thinking maybe… Three years down the line maybe??  Or maybe never….

Now don’t get me wrong, we have lots of very supportive friends here in New York, who have been nothing but supportive and encouraging. Offering babysit stints, food delivery services, etc.  And I love New York. I love our neighborhood. I love our friends.

But as you know, when your tummy hurts, there is nothing like Mom putting her hand on your belly to make it feel better.  (Even though sometimes, you want to pull your hair out when speaking to her.)  And I love the fact that my Mom (when she can), drops everything and drives 2 hours to offer support, babysit, or just watch O as we do nothing.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Father Dearest, Joys of Home Ownership, Mommy Dearest, Parents and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shhh, Don’t Tell My Mom

  1. Pingback: Happy Easter! | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

