Why Do I Blog?

Today I was reading a whole bunch of blog entries regarding what Mommies blog about and why. And what topic is really off limits.  This then led me to question, why I do this?  I think for me, I don’t have a lot of Mommy friends, so I’m hoping that my random rantings will bring some words of wisdom from me, and maybe some one will comment and help bring clarity to a world of chaos.

O has family that doesn’t see her very often, so this is also a good way for them to get to know her. Of course it’s not easy when one doesn’t see the tantrums, crazy running around, and laughter first hand, but at least I try to explain.

But I also think I do it because O will most likely remain an only child, and I don’t want to forget the wonderful warm and fuzzy moments, as well as the not so nice moments.  I’ve never written in a journal for any long periods of time. This blog has been the longest I’ve committed to writing my thoughts and experiences. And I think because I am focused on what O does, I find it less… I don’t know, distracting as having MY WHOLE life as the canvass.

I read other Mom’s blogs because I like the company. The Moms and Dads in the blogs come from varied locations, large cities, small cities… One kid, many kids… but bottom line I have to laugh at some point. I know it’s hard to b witty with every post, so I don’t expect to laugh out loud for every post, but every few ones, it’s nice to get a chuckle.  Because without chuckles, life is too hard.

Quick follow up from yesterday’s post.  O at the end of the evening was back to being her sweet self, and the world righted itself.  I think she was really not feeling well the last two days (feels like weeks), and only last night did she finally feel better. Tonight we played Monkey. What is Monkey you ask???  It’s me pretending to be monkey, and I chase her, tickle her, and pretty much throw her on our bed and tickle some more.  FUN!

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Do I Blog?

  1. Aunty says:

    Sounds like she does not make a good patient! I seem to remember a screaming fit her mother had when the doctor was probing and prodding, granted it was a blood test, but still a little over exageration….
    The new plan sounds good, she has to eat better

    • RidgewoodMom says:

      I remember that now. But they were taking blood. The doctor here just wanted to listen to her chest. So not really the same thing.

Leave a Reply

