Precursor to Teenage Years?

I honestly think the terrible twos give you a glimpse into what you are to expect during the teenage years. I found this list of typical teenage characteristics: Moody, energetic, rebellious, think they know it all, selfish, irresponsible, promiscuous, insensitive, insecure and conforming. Now, let’s review all of these with O’s current behaviors:

  1. Moody. Ah. YES!!!  The kid is bipolar.  She can get up feeling all happy. Then if I make a sudden move, she can come at you with such vengeance. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde in a small 33 inch tall package.
  2. Energetic.  Why yes!  After spending a whole day at daycare with other kids, she comes home and can continue running around for another two hours STRAIGHT, without a break. Then she goes in this weird mood where she just starts laughing in a slightly creepy way, slightly reminiscent of Jack Nicholson’s Joker. I would call it slightly manic
  3. Rebellious. Always pushing that little envelope. No, O, you can’t jump on the couch.  Mommy, jump? Ok? OK? OKAY??  And yet she knows when she’s doing something bad, but continues on the wrong path.  And just as you tell her no, I refer back to #1, where she become a small ball of rage.
  4. Think they know it all. This one I guess it’s specifically reserved for the teenage years. But I’m sure in her little mind, she rules the roost.  I guess on some level she does.
  5. Selfish.  Innately, two year old’s are selfish.  All time must be spent playing with her, being her live entertainment, and constantly looking for attention, from doing something funny to pushing the little envelope.
  6. Irresponsible.  Of all the qualities, I would say this describes O the least.  She is very keen to clean up messes, put things away, wipe floors, etc.  But sometimes, it’s a lot more fun to throw the toys across the room.
  7. Promiscuous. If you take it as the definition as casual; irregular; haphazard, rather than what it would be referenced to teenagers, I would say that Yes, O is slightly haphazard. Going from one game to another. Quickly changing her mind. Mommy, milk. NO, MOMMY, I DON’T WAN MILK!!  Seriously!!! I just got my ass out of bed at 5:30 am to get you your freaking milk. You will drink it and you will LOVE it!!!
  8. Insensitive.  Not always, and usually not to me.  But to her Dad, to her grandmother, she can be quite rude and insensitive.  If she is in a mood, she won’t kiss her dad good night. Or she will start telling him to go away, and not be here. Not very nice at all.
  9. Insecure. I doubt she is insecure. The amount of love and attention all the people in her life show her, I don’t think this is part of her being. And I’m sure this will come, but I hope it will be a small part of her life, and hopefully we will raise a secure and strong girl. My wish for her!
  10. Conforming. This I hope and mean in the best way, not the negative connotation that this word has.  I want her to conform and do as her friend at day care does and go on the potty. I don’t want her to conform to the bad behaviors at daycare, and I think I’ve witnessed it a little bit with the word stupid days and with the blowing raspberries days.  These last ones are not as frequent.  She is now using her words more to express her frustrations.

So what do you think???  I know the teenage years will probably be multiplied 100 fold, espcially when you add boys in the mix.  My friend role played with me when I was pregnant, he tried to forewarn me of the future days and continued gray hairs.  He would always play O, and put the most horrendous scenarios.  But in his shit-disturbing type ways, he was getting me prepared.  Little did he know how STUBBORN O would be.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Precursor to Teenage Years?

  1. Pingback: Peepee No Wanna Come Out | RigdewoodMom's Blog

Leave a Reply

