Attitude

One of O’s favorite games is to pretend to sleep. She doesn’t like to sleep when it’s time for bedtime or nap time, but to pretend sleep is a lot of fun.  The game varies slightly. It’s either she pretends to sleep or she wants me or Daddy to pretend to sleep.

Yesterday, somehow we ended up playing Mommy-go-to-sleep-game.  So she made me lay down on the carpet, gave me her pillow, then put her blanket on me. Ok, Mommy, go to sleep.  She patted me, and then went to blanket on.  Sleep tite, Mommy. And she closed the door.

At this point I decided to do what she normally does to us at bedtime. So I start crying, O, hand… Hand, O!!!!!!!!!!!!  Crying.  She comes back in the room. She puts her little finger over her lips, Shhh, mommy. Go to sleep. NOOOOOOOOOOO, O… HAND!!!!  She starts smiling, and starts closing the door.

But then I pull out the big guns, and do exactly what she does to me.  I throw off my covers (very dramatically), then I scream: O, COVERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  COVERS!!!!!!!!  She comes back in the room, frowns at me. She comes up to me, and says. Mommy, atitute.  Atitute, mommy.  So she’s basically telling me I have an attitude.  I burst out laughing.   It’s OK for her to do this, but not for me. Daddy comes in, and lays in her bed, and he too starts crying.  But he was not allowed to stay there. He was told, Shhh, Mommy sleeping.  Then he was quickly ushered him out of the room.  We keep playing like this for a while. And each time, she was telling me, Mommy, atitute! And when I asked for hand, she said, No, Mommy, go to sleep. I, on the other hand, have to stay with her, holding her hand until she falls asleep.  Hmmmm, not very fair.

About RidgewoodMom

Thirtysomething mom of a baby girl. First and only baby, possibly. First baby amongst my close friends. These are the trials, frustrations and lessons I have learned in raising a single child in New York.
This entry was posted in Baby, Father Dearest, Mommy Dearest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

